green-lanterns-15-2017

For the most part, I will do more in depth reviews about the first or the last issue in an arc. This allows me to share my first impressions to encourage new readers to follow until the end or to hold off. The concluding issue is to give my judgement on how the team assembled the story, as well as if its worth buying in trade paperback. My opinions are all there for the regulars to discuss though.

This is more of a filler issue about one of our newest Green Lanterns, Jessica Cruz. Who is Jessica Cruz? She’s the first female Green Lantern on Earth. What makes her different from other superheroes is that she deals with anxiety. Yet, she’s still considered worthy of wielding the ring in addition to being a member of the Justice League.

Throughout the issue, we read her thoughts as she has pancakes with her Green Lantern partner (Simon Baz), takes on a threat with fellow Justice League members, and a time when she struggles to apprehend a criminal due to a panic attack.

The writer, Sam Humphries, encapsulates what having anxiety is like to a greater degree that I have seen in comics with my limited experience. How being self aware doesn’t necessarily offset what you’re feeling. You become bombarded with thoughts and you may need a routine to bring yourself to reality. The most important facet of anxiety may be how simple tasks can be an everyday battle. Sometimes you may find yourself resigning from an activity, but other days you can function.

The best part of is this issue has to be including what really helps more than anything, support.

I cannot forget the art because the characters have never looked more attractive. The sequences are also well done when Jessica experiences her anxiety attack. Great job to the team on capturing the emotion in moment to moment.

I highly recommend this comic for anyone, especially those with anxiety. Apparently, some fans who share this condition like reciting the oath and I have never thought about it that way. Maybe I will do the same too now.

In brightest day, in blackest night,

No evil shall escape my sight,

Let those who worship evil’s might

Beware my power–Green Lantern’s light

Rating

5 Stars

Next Issue

Batman teams up with Green Lanterns in Darkest Knights. Excitement is through the roof.

