I started writing this series How to Make the World Better months ago. They were short writing pieces to inspire others to change their surroundings through small gestures and long term processes. I believe I reached #22 and I wanted to bring that positive mindset here. What’s important is that in each of these, I share how I link it to my life. We constantly use actions speak louder than words and it makes sense for the most part. Now that I’ve given a brief introduction.

Empathy

This is not to the same as sympathy. Instead, of looking at the world from above, you try to stand right next to them. You attempt to feel what they’re experiencing in the moment. I think that it’s only when we change our perspective that we get an understanding of people. We tend to forget that we process life differently. Some of us are stronger than others at handling stress or devastation. Sometimes we may have more upsides than we are grateful for. Variance is what makes each life unique for better or worse.

One day, I happened on a book The Power of Empathy. It told a story of how his brother’s suicide changed him as a psychologist. How if he shifted from his thoughts, he may have been able to save a family member. This is an extreme, but this is how the book was written.

Since then, I have taken it upon myself to not just react to the world, but to empathize with it. I like to ask myself questions rather than just make judgments. This goes to all of the people in my life.

But to just believe in what empathy can do may not be enough. To understand can also require more effort, patience, and thinking. Yet, this is what we value as human beings.

If you don’t believe me, try it the moment you experience a frustrating moment. I like to do that when I am driving and someone abruptly changes lanes. I imagine the person to be frantic to get to somewhere rather than someone with poor driving skills. Narratives are what we can use to mitigate all the negativity which has no product but unnecessary stress.

